Requirements for Obtaining a Florida Learner’s License
- Must be at least 15 years old.
- If you are under 18 years of age, you are required to maintain your learner’s permit for 12 months with no moving violations or until you are 18 years old.
- If you are 18 years of age or older, you are not required to maintain a permit for any specific length of time.
- If under 18 years old, must have parent or guardian present.
- Proof of traffic law and substance abuse education course (TLSAE) course completion.
- The course provider will electronically submit this information and it will be available to all Florida Driver License Offices.
- You can complete all testing requirements through All Florida Safety Institute
- Pass vision and hearing test- testing will be conducted at the tax collector’s office.
- Pass class E knowledge exam:
- The exam will consist of 50 multiple choice questions about traffic laws and traffic signs.
Passing score of 80 percent or 40 out of 50 questions.
- Testing is available through All Florida Safety Institute.
- Real ID Requirements must also be met: Certified Birth Certificate or valid U.S. Passport, Original Social Security Card and two proofs of residential address* dated within the last 30 days. (*Parents can provide the two proofs of address and sign an affidavit at the office stating the student resides with them.)
- Section 322.56, Florida Statutes, gives the FLHSMV authority to retest a random sample of drivers approved by the Third-Party Administrator.
All Florida Safety Institute
(Located in the Pace office of the Santa Rosa County Tax Collector’s Office)
All Florida Safety Institute is a state contracted third party administrator for driver license testing authorized by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV).
Permit Testing: (complete bundle)
- Online 4-hour Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course. (TLSAE)
- 50 question practice tests created by FLHSMV examiners to simulate the actual test.
- The official permit test (Road signs & road rules).
All Florida Safety Institute provides the following:
- Business hours and after hours testing, including Saturdays.
- Same day testing appointments.
- A Vehicle for testing, if needed
GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING LAWS
- Daylight hours for the first three months after license issued, until 10 p.m. after three months.
- ALWAYS accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older.
- Must hold permit for a minimum of 12 months or until 18th birthday, whichever comes first.
- Required 50 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which must be a night.
Driver License (16 years old):
- No driving between 11 p.m. to 6 a.m.
- Unless driving to or from work or accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years old or older.
Driver License (17 years old):
- No driving between 1 a.m. to 5 a.m.
- Unless driving to or from work or accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older.
This webpage contains links to third party websites. If you click the links you will leave the official website of the Santa Rosa County Tax Collector. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. The Santa Rosa Tax Collector is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites or the accessibility of the content. The provision of links to these external sites does not necessarily constitute an endorsement.