The Santa Rosa County Tax Collector’s Office now has two testing options available for road tests. A limited number of tests are available in our office during normal business hours. However, due to the service challenges presented by COVID-19, we recently partnered with All Florida Safety Institute to provide additional testing opportunities.
All Florida Safety Institute is a state contracted third party administrator for driver license testing authorized by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). Licensees will return to the Tax Collector’s office to process their license upon satisfactory completion of their exam.
All Florida Safety Institute provides the following:
- Business hours and after hours testing, including Saturdays.
- Same day testing appointments
- Located in the Pace office of the Santa Rosa County Tax Collector’s Office
- A vehicle for testing, if needed
- Testing results are uploaded immediately upon completion to the FLHSMV server.
UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE
Graduated License or Learner License- to earn a learner license, you must be at least 15 years old. You will need to provide the following:
- Proof that you completed a Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course (the course provider will electronically submit this information and it will be available to all Florida Driver License Offices.)
- Parental Consent Form, which must be signed in the presence of a driver license examiner or notarized if parent or guardian will not be present. If you are under 18 and are not married, a parent or legal guardian must sign your license application.
- Real ID Requirements must also be met: Certified Birth Certificate (photocopies cannot be accepted) or valid U.S. Passport, Original Social Security Card and two proofs of residential address* dated within the last 30 days.
FLORIDA’S GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEM
Phase I – Learner’s License
- Minimum age requirement for Learner’s License – 15 Years Old
- Drivers must always have a licensed driver 21 years or older in the closest seat to the right of the driver.
- For the first three months, driving is limited to daylight hours only.
- After three months, hours are extended to 10 p.m.
- Teen must hold Learner’s License for 12 months conviction-free.
- A knowledge exam is required to be taken. The exam consists of 50 multiple choice scenario-based questions about traffic laws and traffic signs. Individuals must answer 40 questions correctly to pass.
- A Vision Test will also be given using an eye machine. To pass, you must have 20/40 (or better) vision in each and both eyes, with or without corrective lenses.
Phase II – Intermediate Operator’s License
- Once teens receive an Operator’s License, driving hours are based on their age.
- At 16, driving is allowed between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m.
- At 17, driving is allowed between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.
*At any other time, 16- and 17-year-old drivers must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age in the closest seat to the right or be traveling to or from work.
Driving Skills Test
No other passengers are permitted during the exam (unless a language interpreter is necessary). You will perform the following maneuvers on the driving exam:
- Three Point Turn. Turn car around in a 20–40-foot space.
- Approach of Crossing. Get in the proper lane and look in each direction.
- Observe Right-of-Way. Allow pedestrians to cross, pull over and stop for emergency vehicles, and do not enter an intersection where you will interfere with other traffic.
- Straight-In Parking. When properly parked, the vehicle should be centered inside the space with no part of the vehicle extending out in the traffic lane.
- Parking on a Grade. Proper parking for uphill and downhill, with and without a curb.
- Stop Quickly. Make a quick, safe stop when the examiner/ agent instructs you.
- Backing. Back for a distance of 50 feet at a slow speed while looking to the rear. Do not use the rear-view mirror or rear-view camera monitor.
- Obey Stop Signs. Approach in the proper lane, come to a complete stop before reaching the stop line or crosswalk, and remain stopped until you can move safely.
- Obey Traffic Signals. Get into the proper lane and approach the light at a speed that will allow you to stop if the light should change. When the light turns green, do not move forward until the other traffic has cleared the intersection.
- Signal and Turn. Get into the proper lane and signal your turn for the last 100 feet. You may use either hand signals or mechanical signals.
- Passing. Always look ahead and behind to make sure you can pass safely.
- Stay in Proper Lane. Drive in the right lane except on a one-way street. Do not change lanes until you may do so safely.
- Follow at a Safe Distance. Do not follow too closely behind other cars. Keep a minimum following distance of three to four seconds.
- Use Proper Posture. Keep both hands on the steering wheel and do not rest your elbow in the window.
This webpage contains links to third party websites. If you click the links you will leave the official website of the Santa Rosa County Tax Collector. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. The Santa Rosa Tax Collector is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites or the accessibility of the content. The provision of links to these external sites does not necessarily constitute an endorsement.